Diving in Hyères means discovering all the richness of a national marine park between Hyères and the Golden Islands: Porquerolles, Port-Cros, Le Levant. more than 40 dive sites to enter the wonderful world of silence! Discovering its wrecks, nautical trails, …

Your baptism or exploration must be supervised by professionals who have made their passion a profession!! Today, come and discover one of our favorite professionals Florent Verrier from Saphir diving

Interview with Florent VERRIER – Scuba diving enthusiast and creator of Saphir Plongée

During this article discover Florent VERRIER, this scuba diving enthusiast, French instructor , Padi since 2015 and director of the Saphir Plongée spot.

Portrait of Florent

Diving Florent Verier SpotyrideCan you introduce yourself quickly?

My name is Florent, 41 years old, former police officer in the Paris region. I have 2 children and I now live in the Var, to practice my profession after having traveled quite a bit to gain experience.

When and where did you start diving?

I discovered diving during a baptism in Tahiti at the end of 2013 when I visited a friend and colleague. I was at the time in burn-out mode on my job at the time and needed to take a step back. We had done this experience together and it was just wow!! I still remember the Tahitian instructor Teki who gave us our baptism in the lagoon on the “aquarium” site, that is to say! And what better place to start diving?!

Why did you turn your passion into a job?

I believe this is something that needed to mature, and to explain the why, you have to understand the how and the story:

When I got back on the boat at the end of the baptism, talking with Teki and my friend, when I saw the relaxed atmosphere, the idyllic setting and the crazy good it did me being under the water in the middle of the fish, what Teki had brought us, that was a real revelation for me : I said “hey guys, is that your job? I want to do the same! »

I can say today that since then, this first day of diving has radically changed my life, and for the better! That’s what I want to give too.

I really realized it when I was back in France (back to the harsh Parisian reality); I therefore started at the beginning of 2014 to take lessons in the pit with open water. The objective was clear!: Get to the monitor and quickly!

A dream, a reality

So I did a series of training courses and obtained a transfer to Nice to continue this professional retraining project! In parallel with my work which has become “food” I have chained dives and training at CIP Nice. I left for the Dominican Republic after obtaining the Divemaster to gain experience in supervision and then returned to France to pass the instructor in Cannes, IT College: so I obtained my PADI instructor certificate on August 31, 2015!! Mission accomplished, Proud as a rooster!

From there the ideas were more than clear: teach diving while traveling the world and long live freedom! I filed my resignation from my job as a police officer and created my company as an independent monitor. It was not a “health walk”, far from it; I have traveled to several countries to gain my teaching experience. France still does not allow Padi instructors to work.

I even practiced in Polynesia (Tahiti and Bora) after obtaining the Polynesian pro patent in 2018 (year of its creation) and had baptisms done at the very place where I was. -even baptized, I found it enormous!!

 Diving 2It wasn’t always easy…

Both financially and for family life, butI have never regretted this choice (even if I sometimes had moments of doubt). Today I can say that I have succeeded in my (2nd) career because I love my job, what I do! To bring happiness to people, to teach, to make people discover and pass on what I love, to meet lots of great people and make new friends, to travel to various countries, to see the smiles of children and people who are new to diving, to enjoy the sun and from the sea…it’s priceless!! This is still true today.

In my 40s, it was time to settle down anyway: I finally passed the DEJEPS State diploma to be able to practice my profession in France: I did it for my partner (with his unfailing support at all levels!) and my children. I was given a position of responsibility as an operations manager shortly after obtaining this diploma (in parallel with my own company Saphir Plongée< /a>) and it continues today with new projects.

Moral:

I would like to tell everyone with this testimony that nothing is impossible if you really want it! That it is necessary to manage to go beyond our fears to get out of our comfort zone and move forward: It was not such an easy decision to give up a “comfortable” status the hardest part of being a civil servant is to take the first step and never look back, except to say to yourself: “I’m glad I did it!” Listen to your heart and your intuition, not the people who try to discourage you in your projects!

Ocean Banner - Diving Sapphire

How long does a dive last?

It is quite variable depending on the people and the service offered. It can range from 20 minutes for a baptism to more than an hour for an exploration depending on the depth, the diver or the equipment used. We can estimate an average of 45 min.

 Diving 3Where are your different spots and the particularity of each?

If we stay around the Golden Islands and Hyères, the spots are located all around the islands of Port Cros and Porquerolles. The Mediterranean fauna and flora is quite similar throughout the Côte d’Azur with emblematic species such as groupers, corb congers and other moray eels … and in reality thousands of species to observe, all just as beautiful and fascinating. Some spots richer in species and better preserved than others (depending also on exposure to sea currents): the national park of Port Cros is very well preserved because it is protected and rich in varieties and species: It’s a treat, all dives are always different each time on the same spot.

The whole area between Toulon and Saint Tropez is quite rich and varied in wrecks, most of them quite deep and requiring an experienced level. (Mythical Greek Donator Togo or the Ruby). The fauna settles on and around the wrecks which are a real oasis of aquatic life and it is a treat for divers fans of these spots, who do not hesitate to cross the whole country to go dive on these wrecks! It would be a bit like saying “you are not a real diver if you have not done this wreck! to caricature another well-known expression that speaks of a luxury watch.

What is your Top 5 most beautiful scuba diving spots and why?

Difficult to make a real classification but I can mention Polynesia always dear to my heart, the Caribbean with the Dominican Republic for the warm water part , Malta and its many wrecks, Greece… and for the completely different Mediterranean: the famous Gabinière strong> in Port Cros, the wrecks of the Greek ruby ​​donator.

There are so many spots I would like to do again like Thailand, the Red Sea, the cenotes of Mexico, Bali, the Great Barrier Reef of Australia…I hope to have enough of one life to do more some.

 Plunge 4

What equipment do you recommend for divers?

Diving equipment can vary according to the environment (temperature in particular) and the type of practice: depending on whether you are doing so-called “diving”. leisure” or called “technical”; or occasional or professional … it will not be at all the same level of requirement in terms of equipment. It’s a bit on a case-by-case basis and depends on everyone’s preferences (and budget).

For a so-called leisure practice most equipment will do, there are many models and designs in many brands.

Complete “leisure” equipment can range from 600e to 1500e and more. To see depending on the number of dives carried out per year if it is worth buying your own equipment or if it is preferable to rent it. In addition, for traveling divers, the equipment used in warm seas will not be the same as in the Mediterranean or in the quarry (I am thinking of our Belgian or Swiss friends) and can quickly fill a heavy plane’s luggage.

I offer my customers the full range of the SEAC brand: an Italian brand made in Italy with excellent value for money, as well as course+equipment offers. It will therefore be a personalized proposal according to the level of practice and the budget of each of my clients.

Diving and responsible diver: Is supervised diving compatible with respect for the marine environment?

I would say yes: we are also here to show the fragility of the environment and how to protect it to better observe it: Understand to better protect!

Have you ever thought of doing or participating in operations to clean up the sea, lagoons, shores, lakes, etc.?

I invite divers to recover on each dive the few small pieces of waste (plastic cans and others) that they may encounter by lending a small net: it is a way of making people aware of the harmful impact humans on the marine environment and encourage them to pay more attention to selective sorting and gradually change behavior. Everyone should feel concerned.

There are many environmental protection associations such as Project Aware, Longitude 181 and many others: Find them all on

Sea Life Protection Associations .

Logo - Explore & PreserveMore locally in Hyères, the association Explore & Preserve regularly organizes waste collection operations on the seaside, open to all goodwill: Agenda

Is it necessary to get in shape to dive better?

Diving does not require specific physical preparation but it is preferable to maintain a healthy lifestyle: a good diet and practice another regular sporting activity rather to keep in good general shape. Sometimes the sea can be capricious and require greater physical effort (palming in a strong current, helping a friend in difficulty, etc.)

I was able to read on some articles that Yoga had benefits for diving, what do you think?

It’s undeniable! Yoga helps to calm, control your breathing and in fact allows you to consume less and extend your time underwater! Sophrology is also excellent and was the initiative of a specialty (Bathysmed at the initiative of Vincent Meurice and Doctor Coulange from Marseille) aimed at treating certain psychological traumas in the binding to diving. It had great results!

Is there any special physical preparation to do before a diving session?

Sleep well, be rested, eat and hydrate well before and after and above all listen to your body! It will already be good! And do not force yourself to dive if you do not feel it: the mind is also important and the group effect can have a harmful decision-making. Above all, it must remain a pleasure!

Can you tell us how to maintain physical condition throughout the year?

Any sports activity practiced in addition can only be beneficial: Swimming, jogging, tennis, fitness, walking… whatever you like to do!

Do you have any last advice for us?

In diving: continue to dive, explore and discover new spots, train yourself to evolve and keep your knowledge up to date, travel! Have fun! For the rest, do what makes you happy without worrying about the opinion of others; it’s your life!

Thank you for reading me to the end…

Find the diving school SAPHIR PLONGEE on Spotyride with its online booking

Find all our Diving articles

Plongée à Hyères, c’est découvrir toute la richesse d’un parc national marin entre Hyères et les îles d’Or : Porquerolles, Port-Cros, Le Levant. plus de 40 sites de plongée pour entrer dans le monde merveilleux du silence! A la découverte de ses épaves, des sentiers balade nautiques, …

Votre baptême ou exploration doit être encadré avec des professionnels qui ont fait de leur passion un métier!! Aujourd’hui, venez découvrir un de nos professionnels préférée Florent Verrier de Saphir plongée

Interview de Florent VERRIER  – Passionné de plongée sous-marine et créateur de Saphir Plongée

Au cours de cet article découvrez Florent VERRIER, ce passionné de plongée sous-marine, instructeur français, Padi depuis 2015 et directeur du spot Saphir Plongée

Portrait de Florent

Plongée Florent Verier SpotyridePouvez-vous vous présenter rapidement ?

Je m’appelle Florent, 41 ans, ancien policier sur la région parisienne. J’ai 2 enfants et j’habite aujourd’hui dans le Var, pour exercer mon métier après avoir pas mal voyagé pour acquérir de l’expérience.

Quand et où avez-vous commencé à pratiquer la plongée ?

J’ai découvert la plongée lors d’un baptême à Tahiti fin 2013 lorsque j’ai rendu visite à un ami et collègue. J’étais à l’époque en mode burn-out sur mon métier  de l’époque et avais besoin de prendre du recul. Nous avions fait cette expérience ensemble et c’était juste whaouuu !! Je me rappelle encore du moniteur tahitien Teki qui nous avait fait le baptême dans le lagon sur le site « l’aquarium », c’est dire ! Et quel plus bel endroit pour commencer à plonger ?!

Pourquoi avoir fait de votre passion un métier ?

Je crois que c’est quelque chose qui a eu besoin de mûrir, et pour expliquer le pourquoi, il faut comprendre le comment et l’histoire :

Quand je suis remonté sur le bateau à la fin du baptême, en parlant avec Teki et mon ami, quand j’ai vu l’ambiance décontractée, le cadre idyllique et le bien fou que cela m’a fait en étant sous l’eau au milieu des poissons, ce que Teki nous avait apporté, cela a été pour moi une véritable révélation j’ai dit « hé les gars c’est ça votre taf ? Je veux faire le même ! » 

Je peux dire aujourd’hui que depuis, ce jour de baptême de plongée a radicalement changé ma vie, et en bien ! C’est ce que j’ai envie de donner aussi.

Je m’en suis réellement rendu compte de retour en métropole (retour à la dure réalité parisienne); j’ai donc commencé début 2014 à faire les cours en fosse avec l’open water. L’objectif était clair ! : Arriver jusqu’au monitorat et rapidement !

Un rêve, une réalité

J’ai donc enchaîné les formations et obtenu une mutation sur Nice pour poursuivre ce projet de reconversion professionnelle ! En parallèle de mon travail devenu « alimentaire » j’ai enchaîné les plongées et les formations au CIP Nice. Je suis parti en République Dominicaine après avoir obtenu le Divemaster pour faire de l’expérience en encadrement puis revenu en métropole passer l’instructeur à Cannes, IT Collège: j’ai donc obtenu mon brevet d’instructeur PADI le 31 août 2015 !! Mission accomplie, Fier comme un coq !

À partir de là les idées étaient plus que claires : enseigner la plongée en parcourant le monde  et vive la liberté ! J’ai déposé ma démission de mon métier de policier et créé ma société en moniteur indépendant. Cela n’a pas été une « promenade de santé », loin de là; j’ai voyagé dans plusieurs pays pour faire mon expérience en enseignement. La France n’autorise toujours pas les instructeurs Padi à travailler.

J’ai même exercé en Polynésie (Tahiti et Bora) après avoir obtenu le brevet pro Polynésien en 2018 (année de sa création) et fait faire des baptêmes à l’endroit même où j’ai été moi-même baptisé, j’ai trouvé ça énorme !!

Plongée 2Cela n’a pas toujours été simple…

Tant financièrement que pour la vie de famille, mais je n’ai jamais regretté ce choix (même si parfois des moments de doutes). Aujourd’hui je peux dire que j’ai réussi ma (2ème) carrière car j’adore mon métier, ce que je fais ! Apporter du bonheur aux gens, enseigner, faire découvrir et transmettre ce que j’aime, faire plein de belles rencontres et de nouveaux amis, voyager dans divers pays, voir les sourires des enfants et des personnes qui découvrent la plongée, profiter du soleil et de la mer…ça n’a pas de prix !! C’est toujours vrai aujourd’hui.

Arrivé à la 40aine, il était temps de se poser quand même: j’ai finalement passé le diplôme d’Etat DEJEPS pour pouvoir exercer mon métier en France : je l’ai fait pour ma compagne (avec son soutient sans faille à tous niveaux !) et mes enfants. Je me suis vu confier un poste de responsabilités de responsable d’exploitation peu après avoir obtenu ce diplôme (en parallèle de ma propre entreprise Saphir Plongée) et ça continue aujourd’hui avec de nouveaux projets.

Morale :

Je voudrais dire à tous par ce témoignage que rien n’est impossible si on le veut vraiment ! Qu’il faut arriver à passer au dessus de nos peurs pour sortir de notre zone de confort et aller de l’avant : Ça n’a pas été une décision si facile de renoncer à un statut « confortable » de fonctionnaire le plus dur est de faire le 1er pas et ne jamais regarder en arrière, sauf pour se dire : « Je suis heureux de l’avoir fait ! » Écoutez votre cœur et votre intuition, pas les personnes qui cherchent à vous décourager dans vos projets !

Bannière océan - Saphir plongée

Combien de temps dure une plongée ?

C’est assez variable suivant les personnes et le service offert. Ça peut aller de 20 minutes pour un baptême à plus d’une heure pour une exploration en fonction de la profondeur, du plongeur ou du matériel utilisé. On peut estimer une moyenne à 45 min.

Plongée 3Où se situe vos différents spots et la particularité de chacun ?

Si on reste autour des îles d’or et Hyères, les spots se situent tout autour des îles de port Cros et Porquerolles. La faune et flore méditerranéenne est assez semblable sur toute la Côte d’Azur avec les espèces emblématiques telles que mérous, corbs congres et autres murènes …et en réalité des milliers d’espèces à observer toutes aussi belles et fascinantes. Certains spots plus riches en espèces et mieux conservés que d’autres (en fonction aussi de l’exposition aux courants marins): le parc national de Port Cros est très bien conservé car protégé et riche en variétés et espèces: C’est un régal, toutes plongées est toujours différente à chaque fois sur le même spot.

Toute la zone entre Toulon et Saint Tropez est assez riche et variée en épaves, la plupart assez profondes et nécessitant un niveau confirmé. (Mythiques grec Donator Togo ou le Rubis). La faune se fixe sur et autour des épaves qui sont un véritable oasis de vie aquatique et c’est un régal pour les plongeurs fans de ces spots, qui n’hésitent pas à traverser tout le pays pour aller plonger sur ces épaves ! Ce serait un peu dire « tu n’es pas un vrai plongeur si tu n’a pas fait cette épave ! » pour caricaturer une autre expression bien connue qui parle d’une montre de luxe.

Quel est votre Top 5 des plus beaux spots de plongée sous-marine et pourquoi ?

Difficile de faire un réel classement  mais je peux citer la Polynésie toujours chère à mon cœur, les Caraïbes avec la République Dominicaine pour la partie eaux chaudes, Malte et ses nombreuses épaves, la Grèce… et pour la Méditerranée tout à fait différente : la célèbre Gabinière à port Cros, les épaves du rubis grec donator.

Il y a tellement de spots que j’aimerais faire encore comme la Thaïlande, la mer rouge, les cénotes du Mexique, Bali, la grande barrière de corail de l’Australie…j’espère avoir assez d’une vie pour en faire encore quelques uns.

Plongée 4

Quels matériels nous conseillez-vous pour les pratiquants de plongée ? 

Un équipement de plongée peut varier suivant l’environnement (température notamment) et le type de pratique : suivant si on fait de la plongée dite « loisir » ou dite « technique » ; ou occasionnelle ou professionnelle …ce ne sera pas du tout le même niveau d’exigence en terme d’équipements. C’est un peu au cas par cas et fonction des préférences (et budget) de chacun.

Pour une pratique dite loisir la plupart des équipements feront l’affaire, il en existe de nombreux modèles et designs dans de nombreuses marques.

Un équipement complet « loisir » peut aller de 600e à 1500e et plus. A voir en fonction du nombre de plongées effectuées par an si cela vaut la peine d’acheter son propre équipement ou si c’est préférable de le louer. De plus pour les plongeurs voyageurs l’équipement utilisé en mers chaudes ne sera pas le même qu’en Méditerranée ou en carrière (je pense à nos amis belges ou suisses) et peut vite remplir un lourd bagage en avion.

Je propose à mes clients toute la gamme de la marque SEAC : une marque italienne made in Italie d’un excellent rapport qualité prix, ainsi que des offres cours+équipement. Ce sera donc une proposition personnalisée en fonction du niveau de pratique et du budget de chacun de mes clients.

Plongée et plongeur responsable : La plongée encadrée est-elle compatible avec le respect du milieu marin ?

Je dirais que oui : nous sommes aussi là pour montrer la fragilité du milieu et comment le protéger pour mieux l’observer : Comprendre pour mieux protéger !

Avez-vous déjà pensé à faire ou participer à des opérations de nettoyage de la mer, lagons, rivages, lacs, etc ? 

J’invite les plongeurs à récupérer à chaque plongée les quelques déchets (plastiques canettes et autres) de petite taille qu’ils peuvent rencontrer en prêtant un petit filet : c’est une façon de sensibiliser les personnes à l’impact néfaste des humains sur le milieu marin et les inciter à faire plus attention au tri sélectif et progressivement modifier les comportements. Tout le monde devrait se sentir concerné.

Il existe de nombreuses associations de protection de l’environnement telles que Project Aware, Longitude 181 et plein d’autres : Retrouvez les toutes sur

Les associations de protections de la vie marine.

Logo - Explore & PreservePlus localement sur Hyères, l’association Explore & Préserve organise régulièrement des opérations de ramassage de déchets sur les bords de mer, ouvert à toutes les bonnes volontés : Agenda

Est-il nécessaire de se mettre en forme pour mieux plonger ?

La plongée ne nécessite pas de préparation physique spécifique mais il est préférable de maintenir une bonne hygiène de vie : un bonne alimentation et pratiquer une autre activité sportive régulière plutôt pour se maintenir en bonne forme générale. Parfois la mer peut être capricieuse et demander un effort physique plus important (palmer dans un fort courant, aider un camarade en difficultés…)

J’ai pu lire sur certains articles que le Yoga avait des bienfaits pour la plongée, qu’en pensez-vous ?

C’est indéniable ! Le yoga aide à calmer,  maîtriser sa respiration et permet de fait de moins consommer et rallonger le temps sous l’eau ! La sophrologie est excellente aussi et a été à l’initiative d’une spécialité (Bathysmed à l’initiative de Vincent Meurice et le docteur Coulange de Marseille) visant à soigner certains traumatismes psychologiques en la liant à la plongée. Cela a eu d’excellents résultats !

Y a-t-il une préparation physique particulière à faire avant une session plongée ?

Bien dormir, être reposé, manger et bien s’hydrater avant et après et surtout écouter son corps ! Ce sera déjà bien ! Et ne pas s’obliger à faire une plongée si on ne la sent pas : le mental est important aussi et l’effet de groupe peut avoir une prise de décision néfaste. Cela doit rester avant tout un plaisir !

Pouvez-vous nous dire comment se maintenir en condition physique tout au long de l’année ?

N’importe quelle activité sportive pratiquée en plus ne peut qu’être bénéfique : Nager, footing, tennis, fitness, marcher… ce que vous aimez faire !

Avez-vous un dernier conseil à nous donner ?

En plongée: continuez à plonger, explorer et découvrir de nouveaux spots, vous former pour évoluer et maintenir à jour vos connaissances, voyagez ! Prenez du plaisir ! Pour le reste faites ce qui vous rend heureux sans vous soucier de l’avis des autres; c’est votre vie !

Merci de m’avoir lu jusqu’au bout…

Retrouvez l’école de plongée SAPHIR PLONGEE sur Spotyride avec sa réservation en Ligne

Retrouvez tous nos articles Plongée